in

How to Factory Reset MacBook Pro?

How to Factory Reset MacBook Pro

Are you trying to figure out how to factory reset MacBook Pro?

If you’re thinking about selling or trading in your old MacBook Pro, you’ll want to erase all of your data.

Of course, it isn’t the only reason you use the self-wiping features on your devices. You might be trying to free up some iCloud storage.

Perhaps your Apple Watch isn’t functioning perfectly, and you think a fresh start might be the answer.

I’ve detailed how to factory reset MacBook Pro (or iMac) to a like-new condition below.

Make sure you have a recent backup of your MacBook Pro before you factory reset it.

Things to do Before Resorting your Mac to Factory Settings

Before we get into the details of how to wipe a Mac clean, there are a few things you should do first, such as backing up your data, logging out of your accounts, and turning off iCloud.

Sign Out of your Accounts

Did you know that the stuff you’ve bought for Apple TV or Music can only be played on five devices? 

This implies you can only authorize your account on a maximum of 5 Macs. If you want to give your Mac to someone else, ensure it isn’t connected to your account.

To restrict the number of devices connected, certain apps with a limited licence, such as Apple TV and Music, use an authentication system.

Before learning how to restore Mac to factory settings, it’s an excellent idea to deauthorize these apps, including purchased Adobe products (Illustrator, Photoshop, and so on).

Read Also: How to Download Music from Apple Music to Computer?

Make a Backup of your Data

Before learning how to reset Mac, an essential thing to do is to back up your data to avoid losing access to your hard drive’s contents. 

You don’t want to lose videos or photographs from years ago on your MacBook.

Disable iCloud

By opting out of iCloud, you may ensure that any bookmarks, reminders, notes, or other saved cloud data are unavailable to new users. 

Specific tools, such as Find My, may still allow you to interact with a computer that has been wiped clean if you do not sign out of your iCloud account. You don’t want to discover that you still have access to your old computer after it’s been sold.

Log out of your iMessage Account

Before performing a factory reset on a Mac, be sure you’ve signed out of iMessage. If your computer is set up to send and receive iMessage chats, you’ll want to make sure your private messages aren’t accessible to a new owner.

Bluetooth Devices Must be Unpaired

This is not a required step, but it is recommended if you sell or give away your Mac but maintain the Bluetooth devices you used to connect to it, such as your keyboard, mouse, AirPods, or trackpad. If the Mac is within your Bluetooth range, this will prevent inadvertent pairing.

How to Factory Reset MacBook Pro?

Have you finished backing up your data and signed out of everything? 

If you answered yes, you’re ready to clean your Mac and give it a fresh start. The steps below will show you how to reset your MacBook Air or Pro.

Step 1 – In Recovery Mode, Restart your Mac

This is a straightforward procedure. The directions, however, varied depending on the type of machine.

We’ll show you how to restart Intel-based and M1 Macs in Recovery mode in the sections below.

Intel Macs should be Restarted in Recovery Mode

  • Choose Restart from the Apple menu in the top left corner of the screen.
  • Hold down the Command and R keys on the keyboard at the same time when the system restarts until the Recovery Mode window appears.
  • To verify the operation, enter your admin password.
  • The macOS Utilities window should now appear.

M1 Macs should be Restarted in Recovery Mode

  • Select Shut Down from the Apple menu.
  • Hold down the power button until you see the Options screen.
  • Continue by selecting Options > Continue > fill in your administrator password
  • The macOS Utilities window should now appear.

Step 2 – Delete All Data from the Hard Drive

To delete your hard drive, follow these steps:

  • In the Utilities window, select Disk Utility.
  • Select a startup disc.
  • Erase is the option at the top of the Disk Utilities window.
  • From the options, select Mac OS Extended Journaled version.
  • Select erase option.

When the operation is finished, select Quit Disk Utility from the Disk Utility menu in the top left corner of the screen.

Step 3 – Restart the Computer and Reinstall the Operating System

  • After wiping the hard drive, you’ll be prompted to confirm whether or not you want to reinstall the Mac OS by following the on-screen instructions.
  • That’s all there is to know about Macintosh formatting. The computer will complete a new operating system installation using factory settings.
  • When passing your Mac to a new owner, pressing and holding the Command + Q keys will stop the process and allow the new owner to finish any essential information.

To turn the Mac off and make it ready for the next user, select Shut Down. If you want to keep your Mac, you’ll have to download any software you used previously.

Your Mac should no longer contain any traces of your personal data now that it has been wiped clean. It’s now ready to start a new life with you or with someone else.

Final Words

So, this was all about how to factory reset MacBook Pro. If you are thinking about re-selling or something is not working right in your device, then factory reset is one of the best options.

Written by Hardip Koradia

I am the founder of this ever-growing technology blog where I share "how-to tips" that help users to fix their gadget's glitches. I have 10 years of experience in writing, blogging, and digital marketing. Stay tuned with me for more exciting and 100% proven tech hacks.