How to Make a Private Story on Snapchat?

How to Make a Private Story on Snapchat

Did you just see your best friend making a Snapchat private story and want to know how to make a private story on Snapchat?

No worries, here I will show you how to create a private Snapchat story step by step.

Snapchat is excellent for sending photographs to a large group of people in one go, but if you want to limit who sees your stories, you could try creating a private story.

It’s easy to make private Snapchat stories, but the process isn’t the same as sending a Snap.

So,

How To Make a Private Story On Snapchat?

To create a private story on Snapchat, follow the instructions below –

1. Open Snapchat app and log in to your account if you haven’t already.

2. Click on the profile icon, you will find this in the top-left edge of the screen.

3. Next, click on the + New Story option.

4. Choose the type of story + Private Story or + Custom Story option.

Create Snapchat Private Story
Create Snapchat Private Story

4. Select the names of each friend whom you want to allow to see your stories.

5. Edit and add stickers or labels to your picture or video as needed.

6. Press the send button.

What’s the Difference Between Snapchat My Stories and Private Stories?

My Stories are stories that all your friends in Snapchat can view. Other than that, if My Stories option is set to “Everyone” then people outside your friends which means practically everyone will be able to see your Snapchat stories. (This includes people who are not added in your Snapchat can see your stories.)

On the other hand, Private Stories are only visible to a limited handful of your Snapchat buddies. (Only ones you have selected and allowed to see your Private Snapchat Story.)

You get to decide who can see your Private Stories, and you’re the only one who can add photographs or videos. If your Story is labelled with a lock symbol, you obviously understand it’s a Private Story.

To those of your buddies who can read your Private Stories, My Stories and Private Stories appear in distinct tabs, irrespective of whether they’re using Android or iOS.

Nevertheless, when you post a Private Story, they will not be notified. Your Private Stories tab is hidden from the rest of your contacts on Snapchat.

Your handpicked friends can watch your Private Stories as many instances as they wish, just like My Stories. These stories, however, are only available for 24 hours. Just choose the Save option if you don’t want to lose them.

Using Snapchat Private Stories in New Ways

It’s always possible to make changes to your Private Story right from your profile page. The three vertical dots next to its name must be tapped. 

You can remove it, adjust the story settings, switch on/off auto-save, or directly save the Story to Memories from here (if auto-save is off).

How Can You Tell If Someone Hide Their Snapchat Story?

There is a way to see if someone is keeping their Snapchat stories hidden from you.

You can use a friend’s account to check if their stories are being popped up on their home page.

You might also send that individual a private snap. If they respond immediately yet, you are unable to view their stories; this indicates that you are a hidden friend on their list.

You might also check with a common buddy to see if they’ve received any stories and get updates from them.

If the person’s stories reach others but not you, it’s because they’ve kept their stories hidden.

Is it possible to hide someone on Snapchat without them realising it?

Try the new muting tool if you want to hide somebody but don’t want them to know. This enables you to silence specific friends without them being aware of it.

The function is named ‘Do Not Disturb,’ enabling you to silence one-on-one or group talks.

This is a new feature that is quite beneficial. In this instance, you don’t need to conceal or ban any contacts; turn off notifications about their updates.

To use this feature, all you have to do is tap on the group or person you want to quiet.

‘Settings’ would be on the popup menu, and you could choose ‘Do Not Disturb’ from there.

Such chats will not send you alerts. You will, nevertheless, be able to access, review messages from such contacts, and contribute your own stories.

This is a useful function, and you don’t have to hide or delete a friend to quiet their discussions.

As a result, unlike when you block a contact, those individuals will not be alerted. It lets you to check for updates from them whenever you choose.

FAQs on Snapchat Private Story

Can I Add More People to My Existing Private Story?

Yes, you may always include more friends or family members in your personal tale. To access your private narrative, go to your profile page and press the three-dot icon next to it. Then, tap “See Viewers” and add more individuals to the private Story from your Snapchat contacts list on the next screen.

Does Snapchat Notify Anyone when you Leave a Private Story?

Snapchat will not alert the person you left the Story, they will most likely notice when their name does not appear in the viewer list. Press and hold the user’s Private Story and select “Quit Story” from the popup menu to leave the Story. 

Will other People know I Made a Private Story on Snapchat?

No, your contacts list will not be aware that you have made a private story. Only the individuals you add to your Snapchat private story will be aware of its existence.

Final Words

So, here I conclude this definitive guide on how to make a private story on Snapchat.

The private story feature by Snapchat is perfect if you want to post some exclusive content for your limited set of friends. 

Other than that, Snapchat also allows you to hide stories from your friends, which can be helpful in many instances. 

Snapchat has remained one of the best social media platforms for sharing photo stories since 2011.

This article will help you understand some of the best features provided by Snapchat.

Related Posts